Still time to enter Bridport Prize competition

Still time to enter Bridport Prize competition

Still time to enter Bridport Prize competition

First published in News

THERE is only a month left for submissions to the Bridport Prize which this year has a new category – the novel.

The world-famous short story and poetry competition added a flash fiction section four years ago and this year to honour its founder Peggy Chapman-Andrews there is a section for would-be novelists.

Alison Moore is judging the new award.

Her first novel, The Lighthouse, was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012 and in the New Writer of the Year category of the National Book Awards 2012 before winning the McKitterick Prize 2013.

Liz Lochhead is judging the poetry.

In 2005, she was made Poet Laureate of Glasgow, and in 2011, became Scots Makar. Andrew Miller is judging the short stories. He is the author of seven novels, from Ingenious Pain in 1997 to Pure in 2011, which won the Costa book of the year award.

Tania Hershman is looking at the flash fiction. She is the author of two story collections.


Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree