Published authors in West Country can win £1,000 book prize

First published in News

A NEW literary prize will see £1,000 up for grabs for writers from Dorset and the West Country.

The West Country Writers’ Association (WCWA) has launched the John Brooks Award for published authors.

The award is funded by a legacy left by the former chairman of the association Mr Brooks, who died in 2010.

The subject for submissions will vary from year to year from poetry to history, biography, fiction and non-fiction.

For the first award the WCWA is inviting submissions of full length works of historical non-fiction.

Chairman Lyn Carnaby said: “The West Country Writers’ Association feels privileged to have been donated this bequest by someone who held our association in such high esteem.”

Application forms must be completed by December 31 and can be downloaded from

The competition costs £20 to enter and short-listed applicants will be invited to the association’s annual luncheon in Torquay on April 6 next year, where the winner will be announced.

The association also runs an annual short story competition with a £50 prize for the winner.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree