NODDY Coan collected a magnificent seven trophies as Portland AC, including Coastwatch, gathered together to celebrate a successful season at their annual presentation evening.

Among his prizes, Coan won the New Generation Cup – shore merit – with 1512.16 points, runner-up was Jake Butcher with 925.44 points and Maurice Pickford was third.

Coan also won the Dowsett Motors Cup for merit all-rounder with 1512.16 shore points, 8093.78 boats points and 142.15 percentage points.

Dave McCune claimed the runner-up spot, while Derry Meyers was third.

The Nova Cup for boat merit was won by Derry Meyers with 1921.01 points.

Ian Burden took second (1855.99pts) and McCune was third (1800.50pts).

The Dev Royal Exchange Trophy for the best fish was won by Coan for his bass of 12lb 7oz 13drms, which was 146.92 percentage of specimen.

McCune took the honours for best fish from a boat with his undulate ray of 14lb 11oz 12drms, which was 147.34 percentage of specimen and won him the Weymouth Speedway Supporters Trophy.

The Benest & Brown Cup for shore champion was awarded to Butcher, who won with 58 points; with the John Nash Cup for the boat champion going to McCune with 49 points.

McCune also took the Boat Species Trophy with 18 over the season.

Cups and trophies were awarded in other categories to the following:

Bert Fancy Cup: Jordan Bowler

Dave Trent Memorial Trophy: Noddy Coan

Darren Hill Memorial Cup: Noddy Coan

Bill Smith Cup: Mark Coles

R & S Lambert Plate: Martyn Gibbs

Rotary Challenge Trophy: Noddy Coan

Rock Breakers Cup: Dave McCune

George Hansford Cup: Dave McCune

Wey Outboard Conger Cup: Ian Burden

Nova Trophy: Dave McCune

Frank Read Memorial Trophy: Martyn Gibbs

Tim Wiseden Trophy: Jake Butcher

Sonny Galpin Trophy: Noddy Coan

George Elrick Trophy: Noddy Coan

Bass Week: Noddy Coan

Great Portland Fish Race: Dave Vye and Noddy Coan

Team League: Jake Butcher, Jordan Bowler and Jason Daft

Team League Best Specimen: Maurice Pickford

Overseas Award: Phillip Haug and Ian Daft

Out of County Award: Jack Booker

Dicky Legg Memorial Trophy: Martyn Gibbs

Steve Bazell Memorial Trophy: Dave McCune

Bottom Trophy: Kyle Bowler.

The Clubman of the Year award was given to a very deserving member, Maurice Pickford, who had worked tirelessly throughout the year for the club and to raise funds for Coastwatch with the production of the Portland AC Calendar 2014 – Naked Buoys & Gulls.

A very successful season for some, especially Coan, who didn’t start fishing the 2013 season until August. Congratulations to all the award winners and to those who made it a very enjoyable year.


MEMBERS of Coastwatch also enjoyed the Portland AC presentation evening as special guests invited to receive a cheque for monies raised by selling copies of the Portland AC calendar 2014 Naked Buoys & Gulls.

Members and friends of Port-and AC braved all sorts to pose ‘naked’ to raise funds for a cause close to their hearts; even more so now that the Coastguard is going.

On the night, a cheque of £3,577.40 was presented to station manager Geoff Peters by Ian Burden and Maurice Pickford on behalf of Portland AC.

In return, Peters expressed his thanks and appreciation for all the efforts gone into raising such a good sum; and issued certificates to all the calendar stars who were brave enough to bare all for the cause.