PROLIFIC frontman Ben Mackey hit a hat-trick as Hemel Hempstead delivered a first-half blitz to sink Weymouth and continue their charge towards the Calor League Southern title.

The Tudors ran riot before half-time, with Mackey’s treble added to by a strike from Luke Allen as the hosts cruised into a 4-0 lead.

Weymouth improved after the break and pulled a goal back through Stewart Yetton, but it was not enough to prevent the Tudors from securing a 4-1 victory.

The win keeps Hemel eight points clear at the top of the table and looking good for the championship.

Exeter City loanee Jacob Jagger Cane was named by Terras’ boss Jason Matthews in his starting line-up and there was also a place for Sean Zima.

But they had barely had time to settle when, backed by a noisy crowd at Vauxhall Road, the hosts went in front.

Mackey was looking sharp from the first whistle and it took him just four minutes to open his account, tapping in Kyle Connolly’s cross from the left.

Ollie Hawkins squandered two good chances to double the Tudors’ lead, but the second goal duly arrived after 14 minutes as Mackey showed his strength to turn and drill the ball home.

Hemel were producing some excellent football and the Tudor faithful were soon celebrating again when David Hutton teed-up Allen for 3-0.

To their credit, Weymouth continued to battle and Yetton forced two decent saves from Laurie Walker.

Any hope of an unlikely comeback was extinguished on the stroke of half-time, with Hutton crossing for Mackey to complete his hat-trick and put the Tudors out of sight.

Weymouth came out fighting at the start of the second half and reduced the deficit when Yetton struck from just inside the area to make it 4-1.

That was the best it got for the visitors, however, and Hemel regained control as the half progressed.

Jordan Parkes missed a penalty but it could not take the gloss off another superb Hemel display.

Hemel: Walker, King, Connolly, Allen (Talbot), Murphy, Diarra, Thorne (Parkes), Hutton, Pearce, Mackey (Mpi), Hawkins.

Terras: Matthews, McConnell, Wells, Colwell, Hutchings, Walker, Jagger Cane, Winsper (Holland), Yetton, Joyce, Zima (Sharpe).

Attendance: 641