MEMBERS of Weymouth Angling Society, along with friends and family, gathered to celebrate a successful fishing season at their annual presentation evening.

Billy Short was the big winner, collecting a host of trophies including the Boat Section Lovell Cup for most points in a large boat (123).

Presentations on the night were made by deputy mayor Kate Wheller.


Beehive Trophy – most points (small boat) – Ryan Casey (119);

Groves Cup – most points in competitions – Billy Short (707). Second: Ryan Casey (701);

Gilberts Sports Trophy – most fish – Billy Short with 125;

Alan Boram Trophy – most species – Billy Short with 14;

F Simmond Cup – most points by a lady – Nina Frapple (29);

Best Specimen: Mick Hussey for his garfish of 90 per cent;

Les Broad Cup: Trad Casey for best bass and the Greening Memorial Merit Cup for most specimen points (1,372).

In the Shore Team League, the Chickerell Mafia – Phil Cheeseman, Mark Ayles, Martin Johns and Dave Johns – took top honours with 100 points and 17 species.

Jane Johns won the Dave Trent Memorial Trophy for best specimen of the year with her 130.62 per cent silver eel.

The Bottom Award was won by the Pykies – Billy Short, Sam Short, Rick King and Zim – with 13 points.

In the shore section, Pete Hegg came out on top with 240 points to take the Holloway Cup.

He also claimed the Shore Championship Cup for most species (19), the Wrasse Trophy with an average of 2lb 20oz 10drms and the D V Harris Shield for heaviest bag at 27lb 2oz 8drms.

Gerald Barnes claimed the Cousins Cup for the heaviest weight of conger, Jordan Davis won the Dawkins Cup for the best specimen dogfish at 95.32 per cent.

Dave Lane won the S Harris Memorial Trophy for the best bass at 3.180kg, Ray Barnes bagged the Bass Week Trophy and Jane Johns claimed the Purnell Cup for the most points by a lady with 91.

Cups and trophies awarded in the boat or shore section were presented as follows:

Southcombe Cup (Best Specimen): Dee Weeding for a three-beard rockling of 179.26 per cent;

Carl Rudrum Trophy (Best Bream): Ben Stockley for a fish of 146.95 per cent;

Dodd Flounder Cup: Pete Hegg for a fish of 2lb 11oz 1drm;

Harry Balem Trophy (Best Thornback Ray): Trad Casey for his fish weighing 3.23kg;

The Percy Oakford Memorial Trophy (Best Specimen): James Lane for his haddock of 176.6 per cent;

Rogers Memorial Trophy: Paul Rogers won the award for the best act of conger angling as decided by the committee.

The junior section was dominated by Ryan Casey and Jordan Davis who won all the titles between them – Casey bagged four awards while Davis collected two.

Casey took the John Bowler Merit Cup for the most specimen points (972.7), the Jonathan H Diaper Cup for most fish (111), the Steve Atkinson Memorial Trophy for most species (22) and Junior Cup for most points (218).

Davis won the Laurentian Life Cup for best fish and the G R Cox Cup for best specimen, both with his new club record thick-lip mullet of 8lb 8oz 12drms.