TORNADOES of South Dorset continued their impressive season at the Dorset County Development meet at the Littledown Centre in Bournemouth.

Taking a relatively small group of 28 swimmers to the four-day competition, they excelled with a huge 87 personal best times and 35 medals.

Nine-year-old Aaron Griffin produced a superb performance in the 50m backstroke taking 11 seconds off his lifetime best and winning the most improved sprinter award for the whole meet.

Josh Frampton is reaping the rewards for his commitment and drive in training.

Competing in 11 events in the 13 years age group, he won seven gold medals (200m backstroke, 100m backstroke, 200m IM, 100m IM, 50m butterfly, 100m breaststroke and 200m freestyle), three silvers (50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 400m freestyle) and one bronze (200m butterfly) – he also recorded personal bests in nine of his 11 races.

Frampton saved his best swim until his last in the 200m butterfly, going 20 seconds quicker than he had previously.

In the 16-18 years group, Ciaran Richards scooped four golds (100m butterfly, 200m backstroke, 200m IM and 50m butterfly), one silver (100m IM) and one bronze (50m freestyle).

For the girls, 11-year-old Abigail Barnes had a busy meet with 10 races, but she still managed personal bests in eight of them, winning a bronze medal in the 100m butterfly.

Samantha Dunning, 15, won gold in the 50m butterfly and silver in the 100m IM and 200m freestyle while Eleanor Harvey claimed two gold medals (100m IM and 50m butterfly) and a silver (50m freestyle).

Lead coach Chris Beal was delighted with the progress the swimmers are making, saying: “They have worked hard on their skills all year, so it was encouraging to see them use these well in races to set good personal bests.”

Other medallists were: Lily Young – silver and bronze; Starr Sams – silver and bronze; Emily Robinson – gold and silver; Freya Stanger – two bronze; Phoebe Mills – gold; Chloe Perkins – silver; Kirsty Holmes – silver

Swimmers who achieved personal bests were: Jacob Baldwin (1), Reece Dade (2), Samantha Dunning (1), Bethany Firth (6), Lizzy Gant (4), Aaron Griffin (5), Abigail Hamilton (3), Kirsty Holmes (4), Harry Hutchinson (4), Phoebe Jones (2), Emmanuel Lennis-de-la-Fuente (1), Lewis Limm (5), Phoebe Mills (5), Luke O’Dowd (2), Lee Penny (3), Chloe Perkins (2), Emma Perkins (2), Ciaran Richards (1), Emily Robinson (2), Charlie Rowe (2), Josh Rowe (5), Eleanor Smith (6) and Freya Stanger (1).

* Anyone wishing to join Tornadoes of South Dorset should contact the club secretary to arrange an assessment via tornadoessecre