BOWLS: Trophies galore at Blandford Bowling Club awards

Dorset Echo: CHAMPION GOLFER: Blandford Golf Club men’s champion Colin Pickering receiving the Holroyd Bowl from president Sally Burton CHAMPION GOLFER: Blandford Golf Club men’s champion Colin Pickering receiving the Holroyd Bowl from president Sally Burton

BLANDFORD Bowling Club held its annual dinner and presentation evening at Dorset Golf and Country Club.

The occasion capped an excellent year for the club with the achievements of the juniors, ladies and men’s sections all exceeding expectations.

Club president Sally Burton presented the trophies at the final event of her busy term in office, with as many as 21 winners and runners-up receiving awards.

The men’s champion was Colin Pickering and Freda Yates, who could not be present, was the ladies’ champion.

The evening ended on a very poignant note with the award of honorary life membership to four stalwarts of the club who between them have amassed more than 70 years of loyal service.

Gwen Jesson, Anna Mitchell, Alan Mairs and Dick Hall were delighted with the recognition of their efforts.

Burton reflected on her time at the helm and on the success of the club, looking forward to 2014 with great optimism as the committee develops the club- house.

Competition winners

Holroyd Bowl – Men’s Singles Champion – Colin Pickering

Rose Bowl – Ladies’ Singles Champion – Freda Yates

Chester Cup – Mixed Triples – Rosie Ives, Colin Pickering and Sid Steele

Wednesday League – Men – Jim Keighley

Wednesday League – Ladies – Jane Fletcher and Mae Ross

Bob Charlton Handicap – Barry Males

Warren Cup – Ladies’ Pairs – Pam Lewis and Ann Dennis

Railston Cup – Men’s Pairs – Keith Pearce and Ian Napleton

McCrossan Cup – Ladies’ 2 Woods – Ann Dennis

Marsh Cup – Men’s 2 Woods – Barry Males

Phil Collier Cup – Mixed Pairs – Peter Cornick and Ann Dennis

Roy Wellen Shield – Mixed Pairs – Liz and Barry Males

Beryl Lawes Cup – Ladies’ Singles – Jan Cornick

Lignum Trophy – Men’s Singles – Bob Trethewey

Davis Cup – Men’s Novice – Peter Preen

Ernie White Shield – Mixed Triples – Ann Dennis, Cliff Lindsay and Gerry Griffin

Morgan Rees Bronze – Singles – John Greening

President’s Cup – Handicap Singles – John Greening

Phoenix Shield – Target Triples – Ann Dennis, Jan and Peter Cornick

Portman Trophy – Pairs – Jim Keighley and David Miles

Thorburn Trophy – Team Event – Barry Males


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree