Coach hailed after club achieve safety

First published in Local Sport by

WEYMOUTH Rugby Club chairman Paul Hodgson reported at the club's end of season presentation that after a poor start to the season the club had united behind new coach Barry Ross-Mackenzie and had ended their league campaign on a big high.

Ross-Mackenzie had inspired the club's senior squad, who were courting relegation at Christmas to a comfortable mid-table position after their final league match had been completed.

For his commitment to the cause Ross-Mackenzie was awarded the Jim Rigby Memorial Trophy for the Clubman of the Season.

First team skipper, number eight forward Tony Worle was the recipient of four awards.

The highest points scorer, top try scorer, tackler of the season and he also won the Kit Davidson Kneecap trophy for turning up at an away game against Blandford minus the playing kit which he left in the boot of his car back at Monmouth Avenue.

The Most Improved Player trophy was presented to young hooker James Borrington.

Lock forward Rich Polley won the Sportsman of the Season award, scrum half Nathan Allan was voted the Second Team Player of the Season and flanker Paul Harding was the recipient of the Ian Gatenby First Team Player of the Season Silver Salver.

Weymouth Colts were also honoured.

Tom Smethurst and Matt Driver were named Forwards of the Year.

Backs of the Year were Ryan Llewendon and Josh Docherty; Tackler of the Year was Shaun Diplock and Rob Rendell was most Most Promising Newcomer.

Hodgson signed off by hailing fixtures secretary John Lloyd, club manager Mark Croad and first team manager Mike Eckersly.

He said: "Without their loyal service and commitment there probably would not be a Weymouth Rugby Club."

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree