NEW FACES have joined experienced members on Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust's Council of Governors.

Recent elections saw four new governors elected in west Dorset alongside existing member Jane Holdaway.

The newcomers are police inspector Les Fry from Dorchester, former West Dorset District Councillor David Tett, Christine Case and Gladys Gundry.

The Weymouth and Portland elections saw Michel Hopper-Immins and Andy Hutchings re-elected and joined by new members Sharon Waight and Dr Ian Sedwell.

Mr Hooper-Immins said: "I am delighted to be elected for a third term as a public governor.

"As independent watchdogs, our role is vital in holding the executive and non-executive directors to account.

"Dorset County Hospital is a wonderful place, but things do go wrong occasionally and we need to stand up for patients.

"We will need to resist moves by Dorset CCG to send very ill South Dorset patients to Bournemouth.

"Dorset County Hospital needs to be a centre of excellence in its own right, with a 24-hour service delivered in the very epicentre of Dorset."

The North Dorset election was uncontested, with Christine McGee retaining her place on the council.