Graham Winter is to be the first mayor of the new Weymouth Town Council.

He was previously borough mayor in 2011-12. His deputy will be Labour councillor, Colin Huckle.

Mr Winter (Lib Dem) was elected to the post, which also doubles as chairman, at the new council’s first meeting on Tuesday.

He first served as a local councillor for ten years from 1994 and was re-elected again to the borough in 2008. He has stood in the past as an independent, but this time was standing in Wey Valley for the Lib Dems.

He worked as a teacher for 19 years at St Nicholas and St Laurence Primary School and has since worked with special needs children.

He said the new town council offered “a massive opportunity for us all to work with different agencies, voluntary organisations and with the community to make the people of Weymouth proud.”

Other posts elected at the council meeting were –

Planning and licensing – chair Lucy Hamilton (Lab), deputy Christine James ( Lib Dem);

Services – chair David Northam (Lib Dem), deputy Kevin Brookes (Con);

Finance – chair David Harris (Lib Dem), deputy Colin Huckle (Lab);

Appeals – chair Ann Weaving (Lab), deputy Kevin Brookes (Con).

HR – chair Luke Wakeling, (Ind), deputy Tia Roos (Lab)