THE Dorset Echo School Awards in association with ASM and sponsored by Kingston Maurward College, Weymouth College, Wessex Fertility and the Plaza Dorchester were created to recognise and honour the important work done by teachers and support workers such as TAs and School Crossing Staff.

The nominations were made by our readers for staff working in schools in the DT postcode sector and following a really difficult judging we are delighted to announce the finalists.

The finalists will all be invited to join the sponsors at a Bollywood-themed celebration event at Weymouth College in this month where the winners will be announced.


Nursery/Pre-School Teacher of the Year

Kate Brayshaw- Buckland Newton Primary School

Miss Amie Roberts- Holy Trinity Primary School

Mrs Sarah Honeybun- Bincombe Valley Primary School

Reception - Year 2 Teacher of the Year

Miss Loader- St Nicholas and St Laurence school

Mrs Heidi Roberts- Puddletown CE VC First School

Mrs Jacquie Mowlam- Cheselbourne Village School

Year 3 - Year 6 Teacher of the Year

Mr Justin Gould- Greenford School

Ms Amber Schoorens- Frome Valley First School

Mr Cooper- Wyke Regis C of E Junior School

Secondary Teacher of the Year

Hannah Mugridge- St Osmund's CE Middle School

Mrs West- All Saints School

Miss Osborne- St Mary’s Middle School

Further Education (Teacher of Sixth Form/College)

Gaynor Howlett- Weymouth College

Heather Thompson- Weymouth College Town Centre Site for Adults

Sian Bell- Budmouth Academy

Supporting Staff Member (eg Lunchtime Supervisor, School Crossing Patrol etc)

Jacqui Dawson- Kingston Maurward College

Mr Paul Bascombe- Prince of Wales School

Patricia (Patti) Aston- Beechcroft St Paul’s C of E

Voluntary Support (parent helpers, governors etc)

David Crabb- St George’s Primary School

Alex Fulton- Little Birch Pre-School

The Library Volunteers - St Osmund's CE Middle School

Leadership (Head Teacher or Senior Leadership team member)

Julie Ellis- Weymouth College

Gary Spracklen- Prince of Wales Dorchester School

Mr Duncan Kirwin- Wyke Regis Infants School

Lifetime Achievement

Pam Govier- The Wey Valley Academy

Irene Fairley- The Sir John Colfox Academy

Sharon Downes- Puddletown CE VC First School