THE latest data showing the number of deaths in localised areas of Dorset after people contracted coronavirus has been revealed.

In the third release of the comprehensive data set, the Office for National Statistics (ONS) examined 50,574 virus deaths that occurred in England and Wales from March 1 to June 30 and were registered by July 11.

Over this period, the ONS found three recorded deaths involving coronavirus on Portland, 31 in Weymouth and 51 across the West Dorset area, including 24 in Dorchester and Poundbury.

The three wards in Weymouth with the highest number of coronavirus-related deaths were: Westham North and Radipole with nine, Preston and Lodmoor with nine, and Weymouth West with eight.

One of the strangest statistics in the data was that Dorchester West and Poundbury had 23 deaths, while Dorchester East had just one.

In the west of the county, there were four deaths involving coronavirus in Bridport and West Bay, but none in Lyme Regis, Charmouth or Marshwood Vale.

There were 12 deaths involving coronavirus in Purbeck according to the data, while in north Dorset there were 21. This included six in Blandford Forum Town, five in Gillingham and four in Shaftesbury.

Most of Dorset has had a relatively low infection and death rate for much of the pandemic, but the situation in the Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch conurbation has been much more severe according to this data.

Over this period, the ONS found 78 recorded deaths involving coronavirus for Bournemouth. Kinson East, Kinson West, and East Southbourne and Hengistbury Head wards had the highest number of these deaths with eight each. Two areas of Bournemouth still had no record deaths over this period – Charminster and Moordown.

The borough of Poole area had 84 recorded deaths involving COVID-19. The Poole Town area had the most with 23. Two areas of Poole remained without a recorded deaths – Hamworthy East and Merley.

You can also search for your area on our website using the interactive map.

Alternatively, we have listed all of the regions that make up the Dorset Echo area. They are given by ‘Middle Layer Super Output Area’, which are localised geographical areas used by the ONS to allow statisticians to analyse data for small areas.

Weymouth and Portland

Southwell and Weston: 1

Underhill and The Grove: 2

Wyke Regis: 0

Weymouth West: 8

Weymouth Town, Melcombe Regis and Rodwell: 3

Westham South: 1

Westham North and Radipole: 9

Preston and Lodmoor: 9

Broadwey and Littlemoor: 1

West Dorset

Chickerell and Chesil Bank: 2

Owermoigne, Broadmayne and Winterbourne: 2

Burton Bradstock and Chideock: 1

Bridport North: 3

Bridport South and West Bay: 1

Lyme Regis, Charmouth and Marshwood Vale: 0

Beaminster, Maiden Newton and Halstock: 2

Dorchester West and Poundbury: 23

Dorchester East: 1

Yetminster, Bradford Abbas and Longburton: 2

Charlton Down, Cerne Abbas and Puddletown: 14


Bere Regis and Lytchett Matravers: 3

Bovington, Wool and Lulworth: 1

Corfe Castle and Langton Matravers: 3

Swanage: 0

Upton and Lytchett Minster: 1

Wareham, Sandford and Holton Heath: 4

North Dorset

Blandford Forum Town: 6

Blandford Outer and Tarrants: 0

Child Okeford and Iwerne Minster: 2

Gilingham: 5

Gillingham Outer, Bourton and Motcombe: 1

Milborne, Winterborne and Okeford Fitzpaine: 0

Shaftesbury: 4

Sturminster Newton and Stalbridge: 3