TWO by-elections are taking place in Dorset today, Thursday June 29th.

The three main parties are contesting the Dorset Council Sherborne West Ward, the vacancy caused by the resignation of Lib Dem Matt Hall who is now living and working in Devon.

The three candidates are Nick Boothroyd, Labour; Becky Burns, Conservative and Richard Crabb, Liberal Democrats.

Two of the candidates list their home addresses, both in Sherborne, with Mr Boothroyd only confirming that he has an address in the Dorset Council area.

In Osmington there is also an election for a vacant parish council seat.

The three candidates are Bern Kuflik, Joe Medrecki  and Christof Merkle, none showing any political affiliation.

Polling stations will be open until 10pm in both contests.

Dorset Council is reminding voters that they will need to produce a photo ID to vote following the introduction of recent legislation.

Another by-election, for a Dorchester Town Council seat, will be held on July 20th.

Five people are standing for a vacant seat after long-serving councillor Tony Lyall resigned.

Those who have put themselves forward are – Primrose Farmer, Green Party; Emma Hill, Independent; Mary Reid, Liberal Democrat; Peter Stein, Conservative and Unionist Party and Barry Thompson, Labour.

All of the candidates, with the exception of Ms Farmer, give an address in Dorchester. Her nomination form says “address in Dorset Council area”.

Those who are not already registered to vote can do so until midnight on Tuesday July 4th with the deadline for postal and proxy votes needed to be received by 5pm on Wednesday July 5th.

Residents who need a Voter Authority Certificate should apply by 5pm on July 12th.