LIBERAL Democrats have held the Sherborne West Ward in the Dorset Council by election.

The vacancy was caused by former councillor Matt Hall resigning after moving to Devon for work where he has since won a seat on Devon Council.

Richard Crabb has won the seat for the Lib Dems with 559 votes, with Conservative Rebecca Burns achieving 489 and Labour’s Nicholas Boothroyd 81.

The turn out for the vote was 30.49per cent from an electorate in the ward of 3,722.

In a parish council election for Osmington, held on the same day, Bernard Kuflik topped the poll with 83 votes, followed by Joseph Medrecki with 79 and Christof Merkle with 7. None of the candidates showed any political affiliation on their nominations although Mr Medrecki listed himself as “independent.”

Turn out was 35.04% from an electorate of 488.

Another by-election is scheduled, this time in Dorchester, on July 20th when five candidates will contest the town council seat for Dorchester East.

It comes after long-serving councillor Tony Lyall resigned his seat and his membership of the Liberal Democrat party.

Those who have put themselves forward are – Primrose Farmer, Green Party; Emma Hill, Independent; Mary Reid, Liberal Democrat; Peter Stein, Conservative and Unionist Party and Barry Thompson, Labour.

All of the candidates, with the exception of Ms Farmer, give an address in Dorchester. Her nomination form says “address in Dorset Council area”.

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm with Dorset Council reminding voters that they will need to produce a valid photo ID to vote, following the introduction of recent Government legislation.

Those who are not already registered to vote can do so until midnight on Tuesday July 4th with the deadline for postal and proxy votes needed to be received by 5pm on Wednesday July 5th.

Residents who need a Voter Authority Certificate should apply by 5pm on July 12th.