ELECTORS go to the polls tomorrow for both county council and European elections – amid predictions of a record low turnout.

The ongoing row over MPs’ expenses has overshadowed the elections and candidates fear that the electorate has been turned off politics at every level.

A total of 153 candidates are vying for election for 45 seats in 42 electoral divisions in the county council elections..

Thirty-nine divisions will have one county councillor and three divisions – Dorchester, Ferndown, and Verwood and Three Legged Cross – will have two.

Dorset County Council chief executive David Jenkins, who is returning officer for the county council elections, said: “The 45 successful candidates will be responsible for decisions affecting people and communities across Dorset for the next four years.

“These elections are a vital opportunity for local people to exercise their democratic right and make their voice heard. Each vote counts for Dorset.”

Council chairman John Peake is among 11 councillors standing down. The others include Peter Gregson, of Beaminster, Donald Hiett, of Swanage, Ron Nash, of Chickerell and Chesil Bank and Clare Sutton of Rodwell in Weymouth.

Tim Cook, of Shaftesbury, Alan Havelock, of Mudeford and Highcliffe, Philip Gaussen, of West Moors and Holt, John Lofts, of Highcliffe and Walkford, Don Mildenhall, of Sherborne, and Ann Warman, of St Leonards and St Ives, are also stepping down.

Elections for the Members of the European Parliament are also being held tomorrow. Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm.

Voters will be given two ballot papers to fill in – one for the county council election and one for elections to the European Parliament.

The county council paper will be green. The European election ballot paper will be yellow. Once the forms have been completed they will be put in the same ballot box.

Ballot papers will be sorted and separated before the count begins.

The votes will be counted at six venues, mostly during the morning of June 5. The overall result is expected during the afternoon.

Total number of candidates: 153

Conservative: 45

Liberal Democrat: 44

Labour: 39

UK Independence Party: 15

Green Party: 4

Independent: 3

Citizens’ Action Party: 2

British National Party: 1


Thomas Anderson Labour

Peter Ivan Jones Liberal Democrat

Neil Antony Judd Green Party

Rebecca Knox Conservative

Bride Valley

Anna May Alice Birley Labour

Ronald William Coatsworth Conservative

Ros Kayes Liberal Democrat

Leon Sea, Independent


Sandra Ann Brown Conservative

Julian Stephen Langton Jones Green Party

Richard Howard Nicholls Labour

Karl Gareth Wallace Liberal Democrat

Chickerell & Chesil Bank

Steve Bick Labour

Ian Charles Gardner Conservative

Brendan Webster Liberal Democrat


Richard Martin Biggs Liberal Democrat

Vicki Black Labour

Jonathan Halewood Conservative

Andy Hutchings Labour

David Trevor Jones Liberal Democrat

Mary Penfold Conservative

Linden Lea

David Crowhurst Conservative

Tim Harries Liberal Democrat

Daniel Peter Alec Hassell Labour

Marshwood Vale

Geoffrey John Brierley Conservative

Carole Ann Murless Labour

Christopher John Savory Liberal Democrat


Robert Andrew Gould Conservative

Susan Greene Green Party

Jan Palmer Liberal Democrat

Graham John Parish Labour

Sherborne Rural

Michael James Bevan Conservative

Robin Andrew Shane Legg Liberal Democrat

Kate Parish Labour

Three Valleys

Harry Burden Labour

Andrew James Canning Lib Dem

Jill Haynes Conservative


Mike Byatt Labour

Andy Cooke Conservative

Brian Anthony Heatley Green Party

Christine James Liberal Democrat


Ian Bruce Conservative

Maureen Audrey Drake Labour

Brian Ellis Liberal Democrat

Portland Harbour

Richard Denton-White Citizens’ Action Party

Anne Kenwood Labour

Trefor Morgan Liberal Democrat

Tim Munro Conservative

Portland Tophill

Les Ames Independent

Ian Munro-Price Conservative

Don Roach Citizens’ Action Party

Sandy West Labour


John Birtwistle Liberal Democrat

Nigel Reed Conservative

Kate Wheller Labour


David Harris Liberal Democrat

Ian James Conservative

Mike Owen Labour

Weymouth Town

Peter Michael Farrell Conservative

Colin Huckle Labour

Howard Legg Liberal Democrat