A LONG-serving children’s community nurse was among the dedicated staff recognised for their hard work at Dorset County Hospital .

Jane Hopcraft, who is retiring this month after more than 30 years at the Dorchester hospital, claimed the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2012 Trust Awards.

As well as handing out special awards for those who made outstanding contributions to the hospital over the last year, the night also saw presentations to staff completing 15 and 30 years of service.

Staff, patients and relatives were asked to make nominations for the awards, which recognised those people at the hospital who went the extra mile.

Jane and the other winners received their awards from Trust chairman Dr Jeffrey Ellwood and chief executive Jean O’Callaghan at the presentation ceremony at the Dorford Centre in the county town.

During her three decades at the hospital Jane established the Community Paediatric Team and has become a well known and respected face both within the hospital and the wider community.

Her citation read: “Throughout her career Jane has always ensured the child and family are at the centre of care and has often gone beyond the call of duty whenever a child or family has needed her.

“Her colleagues and friends all agree that there is no other nurse more deserving of this Lifetime Achievement Award.“Through her hard work, dedication, ‘can do’ personality and ‘hands on’ approach she has made a significant and lasting contribution to patients, families and the services provided by this Trust.”

The Trust’s director for workforce and human relations Mark Power, who opened the ceremony, praised the contribution of all those receiving awards on the night and said the hospital was delighted to celebrate their efforts.

He said: “This event is a true celebration of the fantastic work they undertake on behalf of our hospital’s many patients, carers and service users.

“It’s an opportunity to say a heartfelt ‘well done’ and ‘thank you’ to them in the company of colleagues, friends and family.”

The event was supported by Medic Care Ltd, which provides a discount scheme for NHS staff, and refreshments were provided by the Dorset County Hospital catering team.

Award results for staff and volunteers

Leadership Award: Diane Cowley, Phlebotomy Manager
Team of the Year Award: Billy Clarke and Kevin Turner, Genitourinary Medicine
Highly Commended: Ridgeway Orthopaedic Multi-disciplinary Team
Patient Safety Award: Dr Susie Baker, Consultant Anaesthetist
Innovation Award: Sue Reed, Respiratory Nurse Specialist
Improving Lives Award: Barnes Ward Nursing Team
Apprentice of the Year Award: Matthew Bunney, Patient and Public Engagement Team
Volunteer Award Joint Winners: Rose Stone, Hospital Guides Manager and Peter and Heather Foster, Ridgeway Radio
Lifetime Achievement Award: Jane Hopcraft, Children’s Community Nurse
Chairman’s Award: Debbie McDermott, Patient and Public Engagement Facilitator
Highly Commended: Sam Watt, Barnes Ward Healthcare Assistant
Long Service Awards – 30 Years: Patricia Adams, Clare Arnold, Joanna Andrew, Vivien Boyce, Sue Conroy, Margaret Cosh, Tess Drabble, Glynis Edwards, Vanessa Gardner, Carol Gilbert, Paul Harris, Mandy Model, Sylvia Mould, Julie Prankerd, Mary Sargeant, Louise Turner, Shirley White.
Long Service Awards – 15 Years: Salma Ahmed, Helen Archer, Eva Armstrong, Kathryn Backwell, Simon Baird, Judith Barrett, Barbara Briggs, Alison Bryan, Debbie Clenshaw, Caroline Christensen, Katrina Dalton, Julia Denham, Alison Drew, Rachel Drummond, Elizabeth Exton, Gill Foott, Marilyn Fry, Catherine Glew, Tina Greenhalgh, Leslie-Anne Hewerd, Polly Horwood, Laura Hutchings, Barbara Kavanagh, Penelope McCracken, Vilma Milligan, Marie Pickersgill, Karen Plummer, Amanda Pollock, Sandra Preen, Ruth Ransom, Frances Ridgway, Angela Ridge, Angela Shaw, Stefanie Sibley, Michelle Smith, Marion Sprake, Athanassius Tadros, Jane Tarrier, Janet Thompson, Jane Veal, Christine Voss, Sharon Whorlow, Linda Willett, Lorraine Wilson, Philip Wylie.