THE Dorset Youth County Cup Finals Day proved to be a fantastic celebration of Dorset football with all 14 teams involved entertaining the large crowds at King George V Playing Fields in Ferndown.

Dorchester Town beat Sturminster Marshall 2-1 in the Val Newbury Under-11 trophy with goals from Jack Beale and Jacob Bartram, Cole Edwards scored for Sturminster Marshall.

Magpies’ keeper Sam Duncalf pulled off a stunning save when the scores were level at one each.

The highest scorers on the day were Weymouth in the under-15 final, with a 5-1 win over Merley Cobham Sports.

A brace from Bailey Rowe and goals from Harry Hutchinson, John Pritchard and Josh Howell made up the Weymouth score with Aaron Drew replying for Merley.

Gillingham Town took the Braytown Cup back to North Dorset beating Poole Town Wessex 3-0 in the under-13 competition with goals from Josh Erskine, Louis Reeves and Kieran Stokes.

In the lunchtime match, Lytchett & Upton Red Triangle United beat Poole Town Wessex with the only goal of the game coming from William Goss.

This match proved to be a very competitive game, Lytchett’s victory owed to some very resolute defending.

After lunch, Portland United Under-12s beat Bridport 3-0, with Nate Kelly scoring before half-time, before a brace from Brinley Doyle was enough to beat the spirited junior Bees.

Both the under-14 and under-16 finals went to extra-time.

The under-14 final was so tight it went to penalty kicks with neither Weymouth or Branksome United able to break the deadlock after 110 minutes.

However, Branksome United secured the Puley Cup after winning 5-4 on penalties after Kobi Joyce saved Weymouth’s fourth spot-kick.

Rossgarth won a very exciting under-16 final, beating Poole Town Wessex 3-2. Rossgarth took an early lead through Isaac Thomas.

Poole pressed hard for an equaliser but had to wait until the dying seconds of normal time when a goal from Tyrese Bostock took the match to extra-time.

Bostock then fired the junior Dolphins into the lead in the first period of extra-time only for further Rossgarth goals from county player Dan Hunt and a penalty from Robert Howarth secured the trophy.