WEYMOUTH Cricket Club held a rapturous annual season awards night at the Famous Old Spa.

The Seasiders had plenty to celebrate, with the first team gaining promotion to County Division One after a dramatic final day of the season.

Needing to overhaul a six-point gap to second-placed Wimborne & Colehill to attain the final promotion place, Weymouth beat Beaminster by 53 runs.

Harry Mitchell’s men were confirmed in second when the Minstermen lost a tense battle to promotion rivals Witchampton by just eight runs.

Promotion means Weymouth sealed an instant return to Division One having been relegated in 2017.

Meanwhile, the club’s second string endured a tough season in County Division Five, missing out on consolidating their status in the league having been promoted in 2017.

At the awards evening, Shafeek Urumancheri took the first team captain and players’ player of the year, while Andy Jeffreys took the same award for the second team, plus best bowling honours for his 4-10 against Marnhull.

Jack Sapsworth took young player of the year, while Dom Webb claimed the best batting performance for his 75 not out against Marnhull.

Jonny Armfield won the coveted fastest 50 gong, his knock coming off just 21 balls against Cranborne.

Graham Puckett won clubman of the year for his support to both Mitchell and second team skippers Tony Quayle and Tom Reed.

Lloyd Beals won the T20 finals day MVP award for hitting an unbeaten 50 and taking 3-21.