THE ANNUAL General Meeting of the Weymouth and District Table Tennis League (WDTTL) was graced with the attendance of Sara Sutcliffe, the chief executive of Table Tennis England (TTE) at the Springfield Club in Weymouth.

Neil Hardisty, the League’s chairman, got proceedings underway.

Hardisty proceeded to map out how TTE’s Pride of Table Tennis ‘League of the Year’ award was won by WDTTL and how proud each person involved with the league should be.

Malcolm Smith, League Treasurer, then ran through the league’s finances followed by Steve Blair presenting his press officer report.

Andy Millar, the League’s Development Officer and South West Region Contribution to Table Tennis award winner, then delivered his report.

Hardisty introduced Sutcliffe, who went on to speak to the room about how honoured she was to be there and how deserved the League of the Year award was.

She also spoke of how pleased she was to see so many women and youngsters there and also wishing she could clone a few Millars and spread them round the country.

She also spoke about the imminent change to the table tennis league results websites from Table Tennis 365 to ones supplied by TTE themselves, before she took questions from the floor including one on the change of name from English Table Tennis Association (ETTA).

The awards ceremony saw league president Mike Richardson give out the runners-up trophies and Sutcliffe the winners’.

The Taylor family once again made a very kind donation to the funds and the trophy named in Rob Taylor’s honour was won this year by Ben Howe and he was duly crowned junior champion.

Up and coming Sophie Storey received a certificate from TTE for completing 30 hours volunteering as one of the league’s young ambassadors.

Storey has been assisting with coaching and was also a ball girl at the Senior National Championships, amongst a host of other activities.

The Mainstop Trophy for outstanding contribution to the league went to Andy Crouch for his continued work as fixtures secretary, running the league’s results website along with him also picking up the poisoned chalice of the league website, which he has overhauled and which most would agree is now far easier to navigate.

The trophy and certificate were displayed throughout the evening for all to see.

Division Three winners: Budmouth D; Runners-up - Wey Valley

Division Two winners: Shipton Gorge B; Runners-up - Springfield B.

Division One winners: Budmouth A; Runners-up - Park District A

Handicap Cup Winners: Colliton X; Runners-up - Budmouth B

Junior Champion: Rob Taylor Trophy: Ben Howe

Young Volunteers Award: Sophie Storey

Mainstop Trophy: Andy Crouch