CHAS Duerdoth was named Abbotsbury Saturday player of the year at the Swans’ end-of-season awards dinner at YC’s Café in Dorchester.

All-rounder Duerdoth played a significant role in Abbotsbury’s third-placed finish in County Division Four, striking 390 runs at an average of 30 and taking 15 wickets in total.

Other trophy winners included Kynan Brian, who was voted players’ player of the campaign after scoring 250 runs and claiming seven wickets with his left-arm swing.

Neil Walton was named midweek player of the year for his haul of 17 wickets and tally of 110 runs in the Dorchester & District Evening League.

Abbotsbury handed their champagne moment of the year to Pete Bustin for a sensational fingertip run-out at Chalke Valley.

Swans’ chief Ashley Harrow nominated groundsman John Leefe for the chairman’s award, the latter having stepped up to manage the outfield and square at short notice.

Other stand-out performances of the season included skipper Simon Pengelly’s total of 387 runs, while Simon Mitchem crunched 423 runs as Abbotsbury’s top scorer in the Dorchester & District Evening League.

Elsewhere, spinner Krishnan Subramanian announced his departure from the club owing to a move to Taunton, although it is hoped the Dorset over-50s bowler will play occasionally for the Swans next season.

Abbotsbury also paid tribute to the late Malcolm Bosomworth who was hugely involved with the Swans, including as an umpire.