DORSET Cricket Board officials have expanded the Dorset Cricket League to eight divisions for the upcoming 2022 season.

Seven new entries were received, taking the total number of teams to 74 and necessitating a new County Division Seven.

Increased participation in Dorset cricket is a big boost for the sport and comes amid the thriving ECB All Stars and Dynamos schemes at youth level.

League chiefs have scrapped the two regional County Division Five tiers.

Ten teams feature in the Dorset Funeral Plan Premier League plus County Divisions One, Two and Three.

Nine clubs are entered for County Divisions Four and Five and there are eight teams apiece in County Divisions Six and Seven.

READ MORE: Paul Tweddle appointed to England coaching team for West Indies T20s

Dorset Echo: The DCB have published a full list of teams for 2022 Picture: DCBThe DCB have published a full list of teams for 2022 Picture: DCB

Due to Shroton's voluntary exit from the Premier League last year, there has been a knock-on effect throughout the leagues.

County Division One champions Puddletown are promoted to fill the top tier's quota of teams.

Following them, the top three sides in County Divisions Two through to Five have all gained promotion, rather than the top two.

Of all the teams to feature in 2021, Cranborne are the only absentees after finishing second-bottom of Division Three.

The Cranes have switched to the Hampshire League, while Verwood Thirds sidestep from Hampshire into County Division Seven.