ETHAN Robinson and Rebecca Stein were the stars as Dorchester Tennis & Squash Club staged its first Junior Championship since 2019.

Robinson and Stein won the under-18 boys' and girls' events respectively, beating competition from a healthy number of participants.

Most competed in matches arranged before finals day and the competition was fierce but played in a friendly manner.

The coaching team were very impressed with the skills on display but even more impressed with the temperament of the girls and boys playing.

READ MORE: Fun is the name of the game in Dorchester tournament

Finals day started with the mini tennis events. Special mention goes to Oakley Boucher and Gracie Heath for competing so well in the under-nine event and coming in third and fourth place.

The under-18 girls' final was almost a marathon with long rallies from both Stein and Sophie Perry. Perry was the bigger hitter but Stein was solid and managed to break her opponent down eventually.

Standards in the under-12 boys' final were fantastic with Herbie Andrews beating Felix Sloley 11-9 in a third-set tie-break. The sportsmanship of both boys was excellent and they are certainly players to watch for the future.

Next came the under-16s and under-18s boys' finals. With three of the finalists being men’s first-team players, the crowd were treated to an amazing display of top-quality tennis.

Ben Sanders managed to beat Henry Theobald in two sets to win the under-16s title and Robinson beat Ed Keegan also in two sets in a hard-hitting encounter in the under-18s event.

Al Clark, club chairman, said: "A huge thank you to all the spectators who came on the day and to our head coach, Michael Willemse for organising the qualifying rounds and finals day.

"Many congratulations to all the participants and finalists."

*For more information about joining the club, visit or email: or phone 01305 268103 from 9-11am on weekdays.

As well as a busy tennis programme, there are also equally busy programmes in squash and racketball. The club also has a licensed bar and an active social programme.

Results – Under-eight winner: Maymoonah Willemse; Under-nine winner: Maymoonah Willemse; Under-nine runner-up: Finlay Hall; Under-nine B winner: Gracie Heath; Under-ten boys winner: Ren Ren Zhou; Under-ten boys runner-up: Harvey Krosnar; Under-ten girls winner: Maymoonah Willemse; Under-ten girls runner-up: Georgie Hume; Under-12 boys winner: Herbie Andrews; Under-12 boys runner-up: Felix Sloley; Under-14 boys winner: William Stein; Under-14 boys runner-up: Joe Sanders; Under-14 girls winner: Isabelle Preston; Under-14 girls runner-up: Myeongsuk Ha; Under-16 boys winner: Ben Sanders; Under-16 boys runner-up: Henry Theobald; Under-18 girls winner: Rebecca Stein; Under-18 girls runner-up: Sophie Perry; Under-18 boys winner: Ethan Robinson; Under-18 boys runner-up: Ed Keegan.