BRIDPORT runner Shaun Dixon powered to victory in the annual Weymouth Bay 10K, ahead of more than 300 runners in the Weymouth sunshine.

Dixon won in an impressive time of 34 minutes and 48 seconds, with Belgrave Harriers star George Mallinson (35:43) runner-up and Portland young talent Cory Stone (37:44) in third.

In the ladies’ classification, Egdon Heath Harriers athlete Nat Lawrence won in 38:44 ahead of Crewkerne’s Rachel Astington and Westbourne’s Isobel Rea.

The team prize was won by Weymouth charity PaPyRus, with around 30 members of their team all taking part.

READ MORE: What happened at the 2023 Weymouth Bay 10k?

Runners had to navigate a revised course due to flooded areas on Bowleaze Green, but nevertheless still proved popular with the athletes.

Run director Mark Caswell thanked Weymouth Town Council and Harvester Spyglass for their support of the event.  

Next year’s event is scheduled to take place on Sunday, March 2 with an earlier start of 9.30am, as opposed to the normal 10am.