PORTLAND United have added three hugely experienced players to their ranks for the 2024/25 season.

Assistant boss Jamie Symes, first-team coach Shaun Bessant and left-back Crit Clarke have all committed for the Velocity Wessex League Premier Division season.

Symes will return for a second full season in his number two role, having played 23 times and scored twice in the previous campaign.

Symes’ versatility and nous are crucial to the Blues, who finished seventh last season, as the ex-Dorchester Town man can at centre-back or up front.

READ MORE: Jacob Coombs and Jamie Cleaver commit to Portland United

However, he missed a chunk of 2023/24 due to injury and personal reasons.

Boss Kyle Critchell said: “We are delighted to announce that Jamie will continue as player-assistant manager.

“Jamie is working hard to return in pre-season, ready to contribute on the field more this season. A fit Jamie will be a huge boost to the team.”

Bessant will continue in his role as a player-coach for a second season.

The Portland stalwart was a commanding presence as centre-back and often played at right-back when the Blues required cover.

He chipped in with one goal in his 36 appearances last season.

“Shaun will continue as player coach,” Critchell confirmed.

“Shaun is an old school defender who is guiding and supporting the development of our younger defenders.”

Meanwhile, Clarke also remains with the Blues for the 2024/25 term.

Having returned to the Camp & Satherley Stadium in October following the crisis at Hamworthy United, Clarke slotted in seamlessly with the Blues.

He went on to manage 23 appearances in the islanders’ defence, providing competition for George Stuttle at left-back.

“We are delighted to announce the re-signing of Crit,” Critchell added.

“His experience, quality and personality has been extremely important to the team and younger players.”

The trio joins 10 players who have already pledged allegiance to Portland for the next term.

Jacob Coombs, Jamie Cleaver, skipper Josh Williams, vice Connor Callow, Greg Borthwick, Joe Wickham, Jack Delves, Sam Gadsby, Harrison Bruton and Josh Camp have all agreed terms.