YACHTS from along the south coast enjoyed a hotly-contested IRC Spinlock Southern Championships as part of the 2017 Hempel Weymouth Yacht Regatta.

There was a good variety of courses to keep competitors in four different classes on their toes and over on their ears in some very blustery conditions.

The weekend started with the annual fancy dress Tender races across the Harbour and a BBQ at Weymouth Sailing Club.

Afterwards, the near perfect conditions for race two and three left only one point between first four boats in IRC Class Three.

Weymouth Sailing Club hosted the daily prize-giving and provided a well-earned meal to competitors and their families, all washed down with great beer thanks to sponsorship by Ringwood Brewery.

On Sunday, the very windy conditions created real challenges for both competitors and the Race Officer, Iain Jones. Iain made an excellent call to end the day's racing after a shortened first race as all classes had weathered gusts up to 37 knots.

The final prize-giving was held at Royal Dorset Yacht Club and started with a presentation to all crew under 18. Many thanks to our main event sponsor, Hempel Paints for providing such generous prizes to competitors.

Winner of the overall Regatta and of IRC Three was the very quick Bengal Magic, skippered by James Chalmers, closely pursued by a battle for second, third and fourth places between boats only separated by one point at the end of Saturday’s three races.

A special trophy was awarded for the best placed visiting yacht, won by Flair V from Poole and in second, Night Owl Two from Hamble.

Winner of the overall IRC trophy and the Spinlock IRC Southern Area Championship went to Jo90, skippered by Richard Woof, also winning IRC Class Two.

IRC Four was won by Joskin Two, skippered by Bob Turner, followed by last year's winner Moonshadow Two and in third place Flair Two, skippered by Bill Barker.

The Squib Class was small this year, especially for the extremely windy race on Sunday, so many congratulations to the winner Alderbaran, sailed by Peter Jackson and Megan Pascoe.

Many competitors praised the excellent Race Officer, Iain Jones, and friendly welcoming atmosphere at all the events. Next year's regatta will be held on Saturday, September 8 & Sunday, September 9.