WIMBORNE are the new Wessex Internet Dorset Premier League champions following another rain-affected weekend of action.

Wimborne have lost five matches to the rain this season, allowing previous champions Poole and Dorchester to move within sight of the title despite the Minstermen losing only once.

However, Wimborne this time managed to complete a game where others could not as they strode to a five-wicket win at home to Blandford.

Ranuk Jayasuriya took 3-15 as Blandford were dismissed for 149 before the visitors reduced Wimborne to 73-5.

READ MORE: Dorchester beat Wimborne by 11 runs

However, unbeaten knocks from Colin Randall (64no) and Simon Watkins (35no) ensured Wimborne won the league in style.

Dorchester were unable to finish with a win, or a completed game, as their match at Sherborne was abandoned just ten overs in.

Mark Roca had raced to 44 from 41 balls, accompanied by Tim Durston with 12 from 19, as Sherborne reached 60-0 before the elements intervened.

Poole were also prevented from closing out with a victory in their title quest.

At Poole Park, the holders had Bere Regis in bother at 84-5 with Mitchell Wilson claiming 4-36 in dismissing the Bere top four.

Cam Robertson smashed 30 and Tom Munnings 20 before rain came, ending the contest at exactly 20 overs.

Elsewhere, Cattistock & Symene and Martinstown nearly finished an entire innings prior to the rain.

Town had reduced the Foxes to 100-8 at Cattistock after 19 overs but no further play was possible.

Dorchester finished third, Bere fourth, Martinstown sixth and the Foxes ninth, avoiding the drop by the skin of their teeth for the second successive season.

Christchurch finished bottom and all teams in the division will now wait on the big reshuffle expected in the county following the awarding of ECB Premier League status from 2024 onwards.