Triathletes run, cycle and swim in county town

First published in
Last updated
Dorset Echo: Photograph of the Author by , Senior Reporter

THE sun shone for hardy competitors who took part in the annual Dorchester Triathlon event at the weekend.

Sports fanatics came from all over Dorset and even as far away as Yorkshire to take part in the scenic race.

Chris Walker of Bustinskin won the event for the second year running with an impressive time of one hour, four minutes and 37 seconds.

The triathlon is organised by 1610 Leisure Centres and involved a swim of 400 metres at the Dorchester Sports Centre, a 24km cycle ride and a 5km run.

More than 140 people entered the event.

Manager of Dorchester Sports Centre Kenny Brown said: “It was a fantastic day and we were so lucky with the weather. I think this is an event which really showcases what Dorset has to offer.”

Feedback from competitors centred on the scenic countryside which formed the backdrop to the run and cycle elements of the race, he added.

The cycle route took in Poundbury and the Hardy Monument near Portesham while the run looped around to Maiden Castle on the outskirts of the county town and back to the sports centre.

Mr Brown said: “I think it does make a difference when you are in a race, probably very tired and having to climb a hill, but you know there will be a stunning view when you get to the top.

“I was so amazed by the competitors. Chris was like a rocket when he was running talented.”

The appeal of the Dorchester Triathlon lies not only in the scenery, but also in the ‘achievable’ distances set, Mr Brown said.

“We had people young and old taking part, it’s turning into a real community event and that’s what it’s all about.

“I think it’s important that people see it and think ‘that is something that I can do’.”

He also thanked staff at the centre for their hard work in helping to organise the event.


  • Male overall

1: Chris Walker 01:04:37
2: Jack Wiltshire 01:07:40
3: Chris Burton 01:08:22

  • Female overall

1: Lindsay Griffiths 01:16:33
2: Serena O’Connor 01:17:23
3: Kelly Cooke 01:19:38

  • Junior male

1: Eric Evans 01:17:40
2: Jed Granville 01:48:46

  • Junior female

1: Serena O’Connor 01:17:23
2: Flora Johnson 01:21:52
3: Isabella Shackleford 02:19:08

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree