SEAN Murphy scooped the coveted first XV player of the season award at the Weymouth & Portland RFC presentation evening.

Alex Hawkins, Neil Hamilton and Carol Biggs received the same awards for the club’s second, third and ladies’ teams respectively, while Charlie Park-inson was the Colts’ players’ player of the year.

Club president Des Quick thanked everybody for their hard work during the season and congratulated all of the award winners.

Both Quick and the club also gave a special thanks to a few people stepping down from their roles at Monmouth Avenue.

Coach Chris Plummer was praised for his hard work during the season, John Beare for running and managing the club’s bar, Denise Davis for providing the after-match food and Matt Parkinson for coaching and running the Colts.

Club captain Kevin Leatham said: “A big thank you to every player, coaches Chris Plummer, Steve Nation-Grainger and Dave Allan, the team managers, Kate Berry, Liz Bell, Jenny Lawlor, Sue Berry and Sally Chittick, and all of the volunteers that have helped this season.”

Pre-season training starts on July 1 and everyone is welcome to attend.


Colts – Players’ Player of the Season: Charlie Parkinson

Most Improved Player: Tom Drummond

Clubman Award: James Chittick

Men – Player of the Season (first XV): Sean Murphy

Most Improved Player: Andy Bowditch

Emerging Player: Gareth Parkinson

Clubman Award: Jonathan Mason

Most Points: Ryan Lewenden

Most Tries: Sean Murphy

Fair Play Award: Lian Berry

Top Tackler: Lewis Allan

Paul Tobutt Trophy: John Beare

Sportsman Award: Khylo Farley

Volunteer Award: Dave Stone

Kneecap Award: Callum Guest

Player of the Season (Second XV): Alex Hawkins

Player of the Season (Third XV): Neil Hamilton

Ladies – Player of the Season: Carol Biggs

Most Improved Player: Ruth Hicks

Top Tackler: Amanda Wilding