Dewlish delight after title toast

CHAMPIONS: Division One winners Dewlish

CHAMPIONS: Division One winners Dewlish

First published in Cricket by

DEWLISH toasted their first-ever Division One title at Dorchester Evening League’s annual presentation night.

The villagers lost just two games all summer as they claimed the crown and denied St George’s a sixth successive triumph – forcing the latter to settle for runners-up spot.

Dewlish though, suffered disappointment in the Knockout Cup as they were defeated in the final by holders Herrison Youth.

Also collecting their trophies were Division Two winners Cattistock and third-tier champions Martinstown Seconds.

Among the individual awards, Herrison’s Dave Griffiths (448) scooped the Bugler Cup for most runs in the season, while Liam Banfield (25) of Martinstown snared the most wickets to land the Bailey Cup.

Martin Sibley (11) took the most catches during the summer with Stuart Beasley (26) plundering the most amount of sixes.

Other individual winners included Tim Durston, Faraz Ulhaq, Steve Tucker, Nick Roe and Matt Thomas.

Fixtures and results secretary Paula Rolls received the Bill Edwards Trophy for outstanding achievement while Frampton were awarded the Reg Stanfield Trophy for sportsmanship at the Avenue Stadium presentation.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree