FIRST details of the remodelled 2024 Dorset Cricket League have been released to clubs.

Under the plans, which bring the county’s cricketing pyramid into line with the ECB Premier League system, there are now nine tiers instead of the eight seen in 2023.

Dorset’s top tier has been split into Premier One and Two divisions, containing six teams apiece.

Meanwhile, County Division Seven, the county’s bottom tier, has been dispensed with in favour of regionalising Division Six into East and West leagues.

READ MORE: Wimborne win 2023 Wessex Internet Dorset Premier League

Clubs must also meet certain criteria in important areas including, but not limited to, ground grading and youth systems, affecting their ranking in the league system.

There is also a welcome increase in the number of teams, with 81 competing in 2024 compared to the 75 that finished the 2023 season.

Cattistock & Symene are among the biggest shake-ups in the county, dropping four divisions from the Premier League to County Division Three, now Dorset’s fifth tier.

They are joined by fledgling club Symene Sports, one of nine new teams to enter for 2024.

The other eight are: Symene Sports Seconds, Buckhorn Weston, Dorchester Fourths, Christchurch Seconds and Thirds, Milborne St Andrew, Shroton and Swanage Fourths.

There is also an interesting turnaround for Hamworthy Recreation and Swanage, both of whom were in line for relegation from Division One after finishing in the bottom two last season.

The pair have instead effectively been given a promotion to Premier Two.

Compton House and Marnhull are also big winners, jumping one tier to County Division One despite finishing fourth and fifth respectively in Division Two last season.

Elsewhere, Parley Seconds have taken a big drop of four divisions from County Division Two to Division Six East.

Cattistock & Symene Seconds and Thirds, plus Winton Seconds, are the only three teams not to have entered for 2024.


Wessex Internet Dorset Premier One: Wimborne, Poole Town, Dorchester, Bere Regis, Broadstone, Sherborne.

Premier Two: Blandford, Chalke Valley, Christchurch, Hamworthy Recreation, Martinstown, Swanage.

County Division One: Beaminster, Compton House, Corfe Mullen, Marnhull, Poole Town II, Portland Red Triangle, Stalbridge, Weymouth, Wimborne II, Witchampton.

Division Two: Bere Regis II, Broadstone II, Cerne Valley, Charlton Down, Dorchester II, Puddletown, Royal Challengers Sports, Shaftesbury, Sherborne II, Sturminster & Hinton.

Division Three: Abbotsbury, Ashmore, Cattistock & Symene, Kingston Lacy, Poole Town III, Shillingstone, Symene Sports, Wimborne III, Winton, Witchampton II.

Division Four: Blandford II, Cheselbourne, Christchurch II, Colehill, Hamworthy Recreation II, Marnhull II, Martinstown II, Poole Town IV, Swanage II, Weymouth II.

Division Five: Broadstone III, Lytchett, Portland Red Triangle II, Puddletown II, Rolex, Shaftesbury II, Stalbridge Development, Swanage III, Wareham, Wimborne IV.

Division Six East: Blandford III, Broadstone IV, Chalke Valley Lions, Christchurch III, Dorchester IV, Parley, Poole Town V, Royal Challengers Sports II, Shroton, Verwood III.

Division Six West: Buckhorn Weston, Charlton Down II, Compton House II, Dorchester III, Marnhull III, Milborne St Andrew, Sturminster & Hinton II, Swanage IV, Symene Sports II.