From pasture to plate at Kingston Maurward

Dorset Echo: Butchers Paul Underwood and Matt Cook

12:12pm Monday 26th May 2014

PERHAPS accuracy and ‘good aim’ are two inherent chefs’ skills which mean there aren’t too many chopping accidents in the kitchen.

REVIEW: Jalopy Pizza van is the wheel deal

Dorset Echo: HAVE A PIZZA THAT: The Jalopy Pizza van

2:00pm Monday 5th August 2013

Wednesdays have just got a whole lot better thanks to my discovery of the Jalopy Pizza van in Queen Mother Square.

Vintage delights at Re Loved

Dorset Echo: SMILES GUARANTEED: Re Loved tearooms

10:17am Monday 1st July 2013

PEOPLE smile when they walk up the old stairs and into the colourful and inviting 1950s style vintage tearooms.

Tiny cafe right down my alley

Dorset Echo: FULL OF CHARM: The loft Cafe

1:00pm Monday 24th June 2013

ON a mission to introduce my sister and her other half to Dorchester, I was looking for a county town eatery laden with charm.

Nice food, shame about the service

Dorset Echo: COULD DO BETTER: The Lodmoor

10:27am Monday 17th June 2013

ONE sunny lunchtime my colleagues and I decided to try the Brewers Fayre pub in Weymouth.

Perfect garden for summer’s evening

Dorset Echo: King’s Arms at Portesham

10:10am Monday 10th June 2013

AFTER a Saturday spent indoors preparing for a house move it was time to get out, preferably to a beer garden.

Pizza the action

Dorset Echo: BASE OF OPERATIONS: Pizza Express, Dorchester

12:00pm Monday 20th May 2013

OF the many issues currently facing Dorchester, one of the most pressing seems to be whether the moderately-sized county town can support seven – count them – Italian restaurants.

Palm House cafe bistro, Weymouth

Dorset Echo: UNIQUE ATMOSPHERE: The Palm House in Weymouth

11:46am Monday 6th May 2013

IT was chucking it down with rain when we ventured into the elegant Edwardian glasshouse that houses the Palm House cafe bistro in Weymouth.

Lunch on the lawn at the Weld Arms, Lulworth

Dorset Echo: Lunch on the lawn at the Weld Arms, Lulworth

1:56pm Monday 29th April 2013

“SIX pounds for a bacon sandwich?”

Delicious fish at Portland's Cove House Inn

Dorset Echo: The Cove House Inn

12:29pm Monday 29th April 2013

FRESH fish, a sea view and a cosy atmosphere were the requirements put to me for a restaurant suggestion and I’m pleased to say the Cove House Inn fulfilled them all.

It's Henry the ate with curry club at The William Henry in Weymouth

Dorset Echo: CURRYING FAVOUR: The William Henry pub in Weymouth

10:42am Monday 22nd April 2013

CURRY club at The William Henry in Weymouth proved a tasty treat. The first challenge at the popular Wetherspoon’s in Weymouth town centre is finding a table.

A stable diet

10:38am Monday 15th April 2013

Hungry and thirsty after a trek around the Nothe my visiting family and I stopped off at The Stable in Weymouth for a spot of lunch.

Ming Wah, Weymouth

Dorset Echo: TASTY: Ming Wah

10:00am Monday 1st April 2013

IT WAS a cold Thursday, no-one wanted to cook and winter just won’t go away.

Hearty food to suit all

Dorset Echo: EYE-CATCHING BUILDING: Tasty food at The Marquis of Granby

11:00am Monday 25th March 2013

TASTY food, quick service and a reasonable bill is what you can expect at Weymouth’s Marquis of Granby.

Lively and with food to enjoy at Yates's

Dorset Echo: Yates's, Weymouth

10:08am Monday 11th March 2013

IT’S probably an age thing but there’s a few places in Weymouth town centre which double as eateries and night spots which I’d frequent in daylight hours but wouldn’t be my thing in the evening.

Have a roll up the hill at The Lookout Cafe

Dorset Echo: GREAT VALUE, GREAT LOCATION: Ttomato, mozzarella and red onion bap with a strawberry millkshake

10:09am Monday 25th February 2013

FEW things brighten up the working day quite like a nice lunch out.

The Coach and Horses - great location for a catch up

Dorset Echo: The Coach and Horses

10:13am Monday 18th February 2013

Meeting up with a former colleague coming from the other side of the county we needed a halfway house – so what better than a former coaching inn?

Delicious food but watch the bill at Rajpoot, Dorchester

Dorset Echo: Rajpoot restaurant in Dorchester

11:00am Monday 4th February 2013

FEW things tarnish the memory of an otherwise excellent meal like an unexpected addition to the bill.

Restaurant review: Cosy and traditional at Brewer's Arms in Martinstown

Dorset Echo: Roast chicken at the Brewer's Arms in Martinstown

10:41am Wednesday 30th January 2013

HAVING recently moved to Dorchester we were after a cosy pub that would be welcoming for us for a Sunday lunch and our ten-month-old (very messy) toddler.

Escape the crowds at The Fox Inn

Dorset Echo: REAL DEAL: The Fox Inn, Ansty

11:00am Monday 21st January 2013

AS you relax in the traditional setting of the Fox Inn’s bar you might be forgiven for keeping one nervous eye on the door, looking out for the notorious-sounding ‘Blandford Bob’.

Get on board the Lulworth Cove Inn

Dorset Echo: TASTY: Steak and Tanglefoot ale pie

11:00am Monday 3rd December 2012

ON the face of it, the proprietors of the Lulworth Cove Inn can’t go far wrong.

Top of its game

Dorset Echo: DINE IN STYLE: Roast pork belly,

11:00am Monday 26th November 2012

THE last time I walked through Charminster completely parched on a summer’s day, this inn, now called The Gamekeeper, was boarded up.

Handmade Pie and Alehouse is a hearty treat

Dorset Echo: TUCK IN: The Handmade Pie and Alehouse

3:11pm Wednesday 14th November 2012

PIES are 'just bursting with ingredients and flavour'.

Alfresco treat with sea view

Dorset Echo: ‘VIBRANT’: The Bay Leaf at The Bay Hotel on Marine Parade, Lyme Regis

11:28am Monday 12th November 2012

ON an unseasonably warm Sunday afternoon in October we wanted to find somewhere to sit outside and eat lunch.

Pub’s a must-go Inn

Dorset Echo: Deep fried goats cheese with a side salad

10:50am Monday 10th September 2012

THERE are some delights you plan for and others that are spur of the moment decisions that turn out to be just perfect.

Solid gold for this Weymouth ristorante

Dorset Echo: Enzo on Weymouth Esplanade

10:49am Monday 6th August 2012

WITH the Olympics in town and exam results to celebrate, there was no better excuse for my partner and I to eat out.

Best Pub Award: The Fox and Hounds in Cattistock

Dorset Echo: The Fox and Hounds in Cattistock

10:51am Monday 30th July 2012

Cattistock is not the first place that comes to mind when you are planning a meal out, but it certainly came up trumps for us. The village is so picturesque that it was a joy just driving through.

Weigh anchor at a great pub

Dorset Echo: DISHY: Thai fish curry

10:46am Monday 23rd July 2012

IT’S been four years since I last set foot in the Anchor Inn at Burton Bradstock.

Cosy and traditional - the Blue Raddle in Dorchester

Dorset Echo: The Blue Raddle in Dorchester

1:08pm Monday 9th July 2012

ONE of the saddest things about the decline of Britain’s high streets is the demise of the traditional pub.

Trendy new pop-up restaurant brings life to the old Brewer’s Quay building

Dorset Echo: The interior of Salt

10:23am Monday 2nd July 2012

THINK of dining in Weymouth and the word ‘trendy’ doesn’t often spring to mind.

Fine food on offer at The Three Horseshoes in Powerstock

Dorset Echo: The Three Horseshoes pub and restaurant

12:00pm Monday 25th June 2012

IT was some consolation on a relentlessly wet holiday to be able to be a ‘lady who lunches’.

At the heart of town chic

Dorset Echo: The Beach and Barnicott in Bridport

10:23am Monday 18th June 2012

AS A place to be and be seen, Bridport is enjoying something of an extended renaissance at the moment. Locals and out-of-towners are all being drawn to the West Dorset town for its boho chic, regular markets and easy access to the beautiful countryside on its doorstep.

Feast fit for a giant appetite at The Royal Oak

Dorset Echo: The Royal Oak

11:00am Monday 28th May 2012

THERE is nothing a hungry walker needs more than a pie and a pint.

Cream in the crops at Langton Herring's Elm Tree Inn

Dorset Echo: The Elm Tree Inn at Langton Herring

12:37pm Monday 7th May 2012

AS Dorset sloshes around in Britain’s wettest drought, thoughts of mid-winter and hearty food continually flood my mind.

Great pub grub at the Marquis of Granby in Weymouth

Dorset Echo: PUB GRUB: Spaghetti carbonara at the Marquis of Granby

10:00am Monday 30th April 2012

SITUATED at the far end of Weymouth’s Granby Industrial Estate, The Marquis of Granby is not at first glance the most welcoming of places.

Prices are only downside at lovely Cafe Monet

Dorset Echo: Cafe Monet

10:39am Monday 23rd April 2012

Monet, Monet, Monet FIRST impressions upon walking into Cafe Monet at Bennett’s Water Gardens in Chickerell are of beautiful garden views, friendly staff and a tranquil setting with peaceful music.

Lots of choice at The George, West Bay

Dorset Echo: CHOICE: The George

10:34am Monday 16th April 2012

As it was lunchtime and hunger pangs had begun to strike, my friends and I decided to step out of town and head to West Bay to see what treats could be found by the sea.

Intimate Portland pub has superb specials

Dorset Echo: The Cove House Inn

11:58am Monday 9th April 2012

IT’S easy to be a little sceptical of the Cove House Inn because its prime Chesil Cove location seems to guarantee people through the door.

The Weld Arms, East Lulworth: Yummy for my mummy

Dorset Echo: The Weld Arms at East Lulworth

10:00am Monday 2nd April 2012

OH, WELD is me!

Comeback king: Trumpet Major, Dorchester

Dorset Echo: The Trumpet Major

10:48am Monday 26th March 2012

WE BRITS love a good comeback.

Red Lion: Tasty food in a revamped, maritime theme pub

Dorset Echo: The Red Lion in Hope Square

10:14am Monday 19th March 2012

SUNDAYS are traditionally pub days and far be it from me to disagree, so shunning the allure of cooking and the inevitable washing up, my dinner partner and I decided to venue out in search of nourishment.

Lobster Pot, Portland Bill

Dorset Echo: TASTY: Our reviewer was taking advantage of the Echo’s Dine for Less promotion

11:02am Monday 12th March 2012

IF you had to judge a restaurant by its location, the Lobster Pot would be very hard to beat. Perched at the end of Portland Bill in the shadow of the historic lighthouse, the Lobster Pot is a café/restaurant popular with twitchers, ramblers and families with fantastic views across Lyme Bay and the Race.

Not at all disappointed with the new Lanes

Dorset Echo: The king prawn with chorizo, tomato and chilli starter

11:00am Monday 5th March 2012

FOR me, food during shopping usually entails a pre-packaged wrap and some additive-enriched drink.

Weymouth’s hidden treasure: The Full Gamut

Dorset Echo: A HIDDEN TREASURE: A selection of the café’s goodies

10:13am Monday 6th February 2012

I REALLY don’t think I should tell you about this place. No really, I’m in two minds because nestled behind the Rodwell Trail is the most amazing little café and art gallery and I’m tempted to keep it all to myself.

The Scott Arms: A real local treat

Dorset Echo: Sun blushed tomato and pesto linguine with rocket salad

11:00am Monday 30th January 2012

FROM the beer garden of the Scott Arms high above Corfe Castle in the Purbeck hills you get to appreciate just why the fortress was built where it was.

Weymouth restaurant is Perry nice indeed!

Dorset Echo: INTIMATE PLACE FOR A SPECIAL OCCASION: Perry’s Restuarant interior in Trinity Road, Weymouth.

10:29am Monday 23rd January 2012

I WAS looking for somewhere to celebrate my birthday and went to Perry’s Restaurant on Weymouth’s harbourside on a recommendation from a friend.

Former coaching inn is in a class of its own

Dorset Echo: Former coaching inn is in a class of its own

12:32pm Monday 16th January 2012

I HAVE driven along the A35 past the Coach and Horses pub on many an occasion.

Lugger is ideal for office escape

Dorset Echo: The Lugger Inn

10:52am Monday 9th January 2012

THERE are times when a desk lunch doesn’t quite cut the mustard and a proper lunchtime hour spent away from the office appeals.

A bit of star power at The Greyhound Inn

Dorset Echo: The Greyhound Inn, Sydling St Nicholas

11:00am Monday 19th December 2011

CELEBRITY pubs are always a big draw so I had been looking forward to trying Fiona Phillips’ pub in Sydling St Nicholas for a while.

Fish restaurant is the plaice to be

Dorset Echo: THOU SHALT HAVE A FISHY...Monktail kebabs

10:04am Monday 12th December 2011

FORMERLY Billy the Fish, Shelley’s Plaice, tucked away off Trinity Street in Dorchester, had no trouble luring my companion and I in for a maritime meal to remember.



TOP FIVE MUSIC CHARTS

Community NewsYourEcho




Don't miss these links!



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree